In the Beginning

I am.

I see the darkness and the light that could be, and choose.

I see the water and the land that could be, and choose.

I see the barren earth and the life that could be, twining and spreading roots under the bright sun. I choose.

I hear the quiet forest and the bird song that could be, the growl of panthers and the rustling of furtive creatures. I choose.

I choose, I choose, I choose. I add to and take away from the infinite possibles to create what is. I see the lines of each potential future and each now and each past, and I choose.

I plan each sparrow’s fall, and choose the angle of its wings, plot the course of each particle of dust thrown up by the impact, map out every fleeting sparrow-thought. I choose.

I am, and what I am is all there is. I choose and it is chosen, immutable and eternal. No wild impulse from the life I chose to be surprises, no unseen spark or unheard sound. No mote escapes my interest, my oversight. I am.

I see the choices made and to-be-made, and choose them too, deciding all that will be and ever is. I choose every moment and it is done. I am, and it is.

I see that it is good. I am, I see, and nothing else.

I see the eternity of what is known. I see the countless lives of countless creatures play out as my design. I see each step that will ever be taken and hear each breath that will ever be drawn. I am, I see, and nothing else.

I see the ordered world, and choose again. I see the chaos that could be, the pain that will be felt, and still I choose. I choose that there be choice.

I see the first blind fumbling of the new life. I see the fleeting thoughts, watch the course of each particle of dust thrown up by cautious footfalls. I see the infinite possibilities of what could be and what is.

I see the blankness of what will be, the unmade choices and the unknown acts.

They choose.


 

This story was written in response to a request for Genesis from a deity’s point of view – a justification, really, of why an omniscient being would create such a world. It’s definitely, by quite a long way, my most blasphemous story to date.

It’s not intended to denigrate or dismiss – ideas around free will and omniscience are always interesting, and always complex. It is intended to be one potential, if clumsy, exploration of what divinity might mean. Please don’t yell at me.


More stories.

One thought on “In the Beginning

What do you think?

