Embassy to the Pygmies

I will slay for you a dragon,
Should you ever wish one dead,
And if you should request it,
I will fetch the Gorgon’s head.

I will brave the seventh circle,
And defy the lords of Hell,
I will trick a triple guardian,
And free souls from there as well.

I will race against steam engines,
And lay mile on mile of rail,
I will gnaw the roots of mountains,
I will catch your great white whale.

I will sing the stones from slumber,
And the river from its bed;
I will bring you golden apples,
And I’ll shoot them off your head.

Should your eyes covet another,
I’ll bring you the god’s green eye.
And should they wish more sparkle
I will steal stars from the sky.

I will wander in the desert,
I will preach to these dry bones;
I will raise the rock above me,
I will pull swords out of stones.

Give me any task you think of,
Never count the risk I’ll run;
No matter cost or danger:
If you wish it, it is done.

But…

If I must be consistently

Dependable
Enthusiastic
Respectable
Punctual
Presentable
Diligent
And Optimistic

Then that might be beyond me.


For RLM

More poetry

3 thoughts on “Embassy to the Pygmies

What do you think?

